It’s a Brand New Year!

March Madness
2 min readJan 1, 2021

--

Welcome 2021! Every year I set goals for the New Year. Everything from slacklining to reading Shakespeare. It’s usually a pretty random list of stuff and most of the items are carryover from the previous year or years or decades. I’m 53. I’ve been doing this since I was 23. Learning the constellations has been on the list now 30 years. Instead of Happy New Year maybe it should be Happy Anniversary. Maybe 2021 is the year I learn more than the Big & Little Dipper. At 5pm on January 1 as I write this, I’m off to a good start… so far. I went on a trail run with my son and my dog. I did a 30 minute Peloton class with Emma Lovewell. I did some push ups and sit ups. I stretched. I have my guitar on the couch next to me and I plan on actually practicing. Eugene, my incredibly patient guitar guru, will be shocked. I haven’t said a swear word even though I almost slipped and ended up on my rear. I plan on doing another trail run tomorrow, twice as long as today. That will be 2 out of the 50 on my 2021 list. That’s 4% completion. 2021 is a fresh start but as I was slogging my way through the woods on my run today, I couldn’t help but think of the opportunities missed in 2020. I was on furlough for 9 weeks. That’s 63 days. I could have trail run every day. I could have practiced for Eugene 8 hours a day. I could have a six pack (abs). I could be fluent in Portuguese or Japanese which would come in handy with some of the folks I work with. I didn’t even binge watch any shows on Netflix. I just thought of that now and I’m adding it to 2021, right beneath number 39- Learn to shuffle. But let the past go and focus on the future. It’s day one of a new year. So far so good. Tomorrow is another day. I’m hoping it’s a clear night so I can go outside and look for Orion’s belt. Constellations is on the list, right below winter camping.

--

--